Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

First and foremost, I’m back. You’ll be seeing a lot of book reviews over the next 10 weeks. I’m taking a class on YA Resources for my Library Science degree. I have to read and review 20 books this quarter. Those reviews have their own dedicated blog at Adventures in YA Books. That’s mainly for my classmates and peers. So I’m doing what any multi-blog blogger would do. Cross posting.

Each post will originate at Adventures in YA Books. I am then going to paste the post here at Nicole’s Life Adventures. Pick a place and read and enjoy!

 

Citation:
Hinton, S.E. The Outsiders. New York: Speak, a Penguin Putnam imprint. 2003. Paperback.

Annotation:
Growing up is never easy no matter where you come from and no matter the differences, in the end we are all a lot more alike than we believe.

Awards:
1967: New York Herald Tribune Best Teenage Book List
1967: Chicago Tribune Book World Spring Book Festival Honor Book
1975: Media and Methods Maxi Award
1975: ALA Best Young Adult Books
1979: Massachusetts’s Children’s Book Award
1991: BILBY Award for Older Readers

Image Cover:
The Outsiders

Mini Review:

Star Rating- 5 out of 5 (That’s what I gave it on Goodreads).

The Outsiders is a story about friendship and growing up. Ponyboy Curtis is a 14 year-old “greaser”. He and the rest of his gang are rivals with the “socs”. Throughout the story the greasers and the socs have various scuffles. Until one scuffle changes everyone’s life.  Ponyboy and another greaser Johnny end up on the run.  Even though they return home other events happen that change Ponyboy forever.

I never read The Outsiders in high school. I wished I had, so I could compare my understanding of it now and what I thought then.  I also thought when I first saw rival gangs, I thought West Side Story in non-musical form. The Outsiders is much much more.

The novel deals with social class, violence, gangs, school, and death, S.E. Hinton weaves them all into a compelling story that makes you feel like you’ve been friends with Ponyboy and company for ever.

Videos:  In 1983 Hinton’s novel was made into a movie. Here is the trailer for the movie.

 

Teen Quotes:  “The Outsiders is the first book I read completely in High School. I love this book.”- Billy, 19.

Credits:
Cover Image- Goodreads
Awards List- S.E. Hinton’s website
BILBY Award Mention
Movie Trailer- YouTube user Danielle Jonas

