Tags

, ,

Disclaimer: I received this book from Edelweiss.

Independent Study is the second book in The Testing trilogy from Joelle Charbonneau. I had the ARC for a bit, but I just got around to reading it today. Yep, all 310 pages in one day. Maybe that’s why I waited so long, because I knew once I started I couldn’t stop until I finished reading.

While I liked the first book better, I still thought Independent Study was a solid sequel. It picks up right where The Testing left off, and Cia must now decide who she can trust.  After her Early studies are over she is sorted into one of the studies that will help rebuild the colonies.

As she is in her new field of study after the Induction process, Cia lands an important internship. (If you continue reading there are spoilers. The more link might not work if you click directly on the link.)

With that internship she learns more about the rebels who plan to get rid of the Testing. During her studies, there are more characters, all of whom she has to decide if she can trust.  Deaths occur in this book, but not as frequently as they do in the testing, but I think the deaths that occur in this book pack a powerful punch.

The ending of the book also threw me for a loop as I really wasn’t expecting a person to be the bad guy.

I’m looking forward to seeing this trilogy pan out.

