Tags

, ,

Disclaimer: I received this book from NetGalley.

The Reluctant Blogger by Ryan Rapier is a book that made me laugh, cry, and made me angry. I enjoyed the fact that we saw Todd’s world through the blogs eyes so to speak. We didn’t see events as they happened, but as he sat down to write them.  I laughed at some parts in Todd’s descriptions of them and I cried. This book has a lot of sad stuff. Two of the things that happened to two characters were kind of predictable. I won’t say which one I spotted as soon as they were introduced in the book but I was like, yeah, I know that’s coming.

Then the book made me angry. I know I’m not super religious, and I have my own ways of talking a higher being (God, or whatever you are inclined to believe), but it really saddened me how the book perceived LDS as narrow minded and as it said black and white. And if something isn’t black and white, it’s wrong. I don’t want to start a whole religious debate about what is right and wrong on here, and remember this is MY opinion, not the opinion of the author/publisher etc. It is how I felt reading it.  I was glad that Todd and eventually Grant were starting to see outside this black and white box. I guess I just believe that if people are treated with kindness instead of intolerance, I don’t know, the world may not be so crazy.

But this anger I felt at the LDS religion and the characters didn’t stop me from reading the book; in fact I wanted to know more about everything. I kind of wish there was a book from Kevin’s perspective as well. Because just like Todd, he’s got to face some stuff.

All in all, I thought this was a wonderful read that gave me a lot to think about. I couldn’t put it down and read it in about 12 hours.

