Tags

, ,

Disclaimer: I received this book from NetGalley.

I started off almost ending up not starting to read this because I wasn’t sure if it was going to be a type of book I would be interested in. I had downloaded the eBook prequel from The Testing Trilogy website, and while it kind of hooked me, I wasn’t amazed at the prequel. So I just let it sit on my iPad for another week or two. Since I’m not comfortably moved back home to my parents place, I knew I wanted to start reading again. The book popped up on my iPad and I figured why not.  I’m glad I decided to read the book after the prequel. I couldn’t put it down.  I’ve seen a lot of comparisons to the book being like The Hunger Games, but I haven’t read The Hunger Games so I’m not going to compare one to the other.

Spoilers underneath the More link.

The book starts off with Cia Vale graduating from school in the Five Lakes colony in the United Commonwealth. The United Commonwealth is the United States after a Seven Stage War took out the country.  There are 18 colonies left and each year there are candidates selected for The Testing.  Cia has always wanted to be chosen for The Testing but no one from her colony has been chosen in years.  It turns out after some issues Cia and a couple others from her colony were chosen for the Testing.

Cia’s dad warns her of the nightmares he has had from the testing and what it could lead to.  When Cia get’s to Tosu City, (The United Commonwealth’s capital) she realizes the Testing isn’t what it seems. During the Testing Cia needs to identify who she can trust and who she cannot. With murder’s and suicides around, who is the fittest to make it to University?

As the twists and turns continue throughout the book, I was surprised by a couple of the characters who became enemies. In book two I hope I get some answers about Cia and Tomas’s memory and what really happened during the last test.

