Tags

, , , ,

I know, I know I can hear you laughing hysterically and or wondering if hell froze over or I was abducted by aliens. Yes, that title really does read recipe. I made it in a slow cooker/crock pot and it turned out really well for me mixing a couple recipes up.

This is the recipe I got my idea to just give it a go from. When I went grocery shopping yesterday, not being a huge vegetable fan, I just picked up some corn, the potatoes, and some baby carrots. I’m going to guess you can put in celery, or whatever other veggies that are good in a slow cooker.

I also had one can of Swanson Beef Broth, and 1 packet of Lipton Recipe Secrets Onion Soup/Dip mix.

To start:

I took the flour mix from the All Recipes recipe and combined that on a plate (flour, salt, pepper, and paprika). Instead of dumping that on top of the meat in the crock pot, I took each beef stew cube and covered each side with the flour then stuck it in the crock pot. (The main reason I did that was because I only had 1 pound of the beef cubes instead of the two like the All Recipes recipe said so I didn’t want to over power it with the flour mixture).

Next I sliced the potatoes (I had 2 medium to large potatoes and 1 smallish potato). I’m not sure how to dice potatoes but I kind of sliced them like I was going to be making really thick potato chips, and depending on the size of the round, I would quarter it or cut it into six pieces.

Here’s where you veggie lovers would add in, your carrots and celery and whatever other veggies you’d like.

Now, I also switched to the Swanson recipe because that said to add the entire can of broth while the all recipes one wanted 3/4 of the can. Because the Swanson recipe had that for 1 pound of beef.

Being a non veggie person, I did mention above that I picked up baby carrots. I have a microplane grater, and I grated 4 of the baby carrots into the crock. Grating something like that, I still got a little bit of veggies but they dissolved into the broth so I couldn’t see them and thus I ate it. (Yes, I’m like a kid that way).

I turned on the crock pot and let it go for about 15-20 minutes (more so because I forgot I was going to add in the onion soup mix), but then I took a bowl, and dumped the packet of onion soup mix in. Then I just added enough water to dissolve it. It wasn’t what onion soup recipe said, but I figured with a whole can of broth, I didn’t need that much water in it. I just needed enough so it could easily be poured into the crock.

Once the onion soup mix was in, I just let it go for about 4 hours. It was pretty close to high. My slow cooker goes from 1-5, and I think I had it on a little past 4. Then I let it cook for about 4 hours. I did go and stir it every so often, so I could make sure the potatoes would cook. But at about the 4 mark, I did notice my broth was a teeny bit thinner than I would have liked, so I mixed 1/4 cup of water with two spoonfuls of flour and mixed that into the crock. And I let it go for another hour. It was then I sliced the corn off the cob (3 medium ears) and gave it a stir and let it go for another half hour.

After that I turned the crock pot off and let it rest, while I spooned a bowlful for me.

IMG_5212

IMG_5213

So overall, it turned out pretty darn good. I may work on tweaking it for the next time I try it, but for a first go at something a little more complex while cooking. I think it worked well.

