Tags

,

Click on the image to go to Tynga’s Reviews website. This may not be weekly as I’m not buying or borrowing books every week. But I’ll add in what I’m currently reading to make it somewhat interesting.

Without further ado, here is my stacking the shelves for the month of November and the first week or two of December.

With NaNoWriMo being in November, I really didn’t make or take the time to write anything else other than my NaNoWriMo novel. But as my writing habits, depending on where the write ins were located, if I made a certain writing goal while there, I would reward myself. (If it was Panera Bread, it was a pastry and if it was at a book store it was a book).

So here are my books for the month of November:

  1. Hollow Earth by John and Carole E. Barrowman– I bought the US version even though I have the UK version. I think I was more excited to just be able to buy something written by John and Carole in the US.  (BTW, John Barrowman is Captain Jack in Doctor Who/Torchwood and can currently be seen in Arrow. Carole is John’s sister).
  2. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky– I never read this in High School or College. Eventually I may see the movie, so I figured I should buy the book and read it before I consider watching the movie.
  3. Doctor Proctor’s Fart Powder: Who Cut the Cheese by Jo Nesbo– Yes, the famous crime writer writes children’s books about farts. I have the first couple in this series, so I couldn’t not buy this one. Having incomplete collections bother me. Also, yes I’m an inner 5 year old. I love farts. They make me laugh and every now and then you just need a good laugh. If you can’t respect that I get hysterical over bodily functions then we cannot be friends. 😛
  4. The Name of the Wind by Partrick Rothfuss– A NaNo buddy recommended this to me. I usually can’t say no to recommendations so I picked this one up.
  5. Before Your Dog Can Eat Your Homework, First You Have to do it by John O’Hurley– Towne Book Center where some write ins were held had a book signing with John O’Hurley. I was into my writing so I forgot to go check it out. But they had extra signed copies of his books.

As per my usual, I still may go overboard at the library. When I go return books to the library, even if I have lots still out, I have to go and get more. Someone needs to invent blinders so I can just walk in and return the books and leave. (Or I need to go and drop books off on Sunday’s when the library is closed and use the book drop.)

I know some of these have been listed before but this is what I currently have out of the library.

  1. Give my Regrets to Broadway by Bruce Hale– A kids book about a Gecko detective. It had a cute cover. I’m a sucker for kids books with cute covers.
  2. Unseen Danger: A Tragedy of People, Government, and the Centralia Mine Fire– I went to college at Bloomsburg University about 15 miles from Centralia. During my Geology 101 type class we had a field trip to Centralia to see the smoke billowing out of the ground. I liked being able to walk around and see all the smokey areas and just how little is left of a town that had been so bustling back in the day. So I’m always interested in learning more.
  3. Alice in Rapture, Sort of
  4. All But Alice
  5. Lovingly Alice
  6. Reluctantly Alice– Phyllis Reynolds Naylor: I’m determined to finish reading this series. So I’ve had these 4 out from the library. I just need to sit and read them.
  7. Withering Tights by Louise Rennison– I loved the Georgia Nicholson series, so I wanted to read this one as well.
  8. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray- I follow Libba on Twitter, and somehow have yet to read any of her works. I plan to rectify this with Beauty Queens.
  9. Jean & Johnny
  10. The Luckiest Girl by Beverly Cleary- Jean and Johnny and The Luckiest girl, I randomly picked up because they were two Beverly Cleary books I had never ever heard of.
  11. The Mystery of Edwin Drood by Charles Dickens- Guess I want to read more classics.  I’m also reading A Tale of Two Cities as well on eBook because I was talking to Felicity Disco on twitter and I realized that I never read it even though I swore I had.
  12. The Princess Diaries Vol. 1 by Meg Cabot– It was next to Beverly Cleary.  Impulse grab at its finest.
  13. How I Killed Pluto and Why it had it Coming by Mike Brown– Closet science dork here (find me watching How It’s Made and Mythbusters etc) and I’ve always had a soft spot for astronomy. So I wanted to read this.

So I hereby devote December to at least getting the 13 library books read. I probably won’t update Stacking the Shelves until Christmas Day or after. As Christmas Day is when I turn over my book lists to the new year.

Happy Reading!

