Tags

Ironically it’s a year to the day, that I’m posting my 2013 list. Here’s the entry in case you want to go back and read.

In case you don’t want to read, I’ll copy and past last years goals and a wrap up of BFST 2012.

BFST 2012

  • Finish my 2011 NaNo novel. Work got in the way this year. I love my characters, and I love my idea. I don’t want it to go into the box of unwritten items.
  • Read more books. I’m pushing 53 books for this year, so maybe 60 books.  (Possibly read more “grown up” books. My children’s book list this year was astounding. But I kind of like quick easy reads.
  • De-clutter, and toss out s*** I don’t need.  (This one is big and scary, I’m sort of a hoarder, not TV show hoarding but I do have a lot of stuff. I need to get rid of.)
  • Go through the humongous “library” of books sitting in every free space in my apartment. Really take a look at them and decide if I will ever read them or not. Then possibly put them up online to sell. They’ll need a good home.  (I will put pictures up here, and elsewhere so if anyone would be interested in them, my blogs and online journals have first dibs.)
  • Script Frenzy. I’ve got an idea. I just need to execute it. (I’m not going to say what my idea is, because that means I’ll have to admit, I just watched 130 episodes of a children’s show, and bought a couple on iTunes that weren’t on Netflix, because I needed it to watch when NF had been down.)
  1. Finish my 2011 Nano. Honestly haven’t touched it since last year’s NaNo ended. 
  2. Read more books. That definitely didn’t happen. I read books and I bought books, but I didn’t have a good keep up ratio. I have ebbs and flows. I started off the year strong, then from like August on, I kind of ebbed. 
  3. De-Clutter. So-So I got rid of a lot of magazines and stuff, but I’m still a habitual lazy ass and know that I can do better at keeping up with reading magazines. I’m sure I can do better and getting rid of stuff too. 
  4. Somehow I’ve added even more books. I think once I read my current stack of library books, I’m going to take a little break from borrowing from the library and read my own books. And possibly organize them. Anyone have any tips on how to easily make a documentation of books?
  5. I started Script Frenzy, but I think I found myself to be too wordy to actually ever complete a script. Now that Script Frenzy is no more, I’m fairly certain I won’t write a script anymore. I mean I’ll never say never, but until I finish some original fiction, I’m stepping away from attempting scripts.

So that’s where my Big Fun Scary Things 2012 ended up.

Now onto the fun stuff! What do I have listed for 2013?
-Finish my NaNo 2012 story
-Try to de-clutter

  • Be a more proactive blogger. This year, I’ve really tried to be fairly active on this here blog. November was a dead month as I did NaNo, but interestingly enough, my stats showed I still got the same average amount even though the lack of entries. 
  • I haven’t told many yet, but I’m working on getting started in voice overs. I know it’s competitive but I know it’ll be a nice little side thing, once I start to learn how to market myself (which, I kind of hate boasting about myself, but I think that’s what I’ve got to do. Which could also lead into the next bullet point)
  • Get a new job, this one is a high priority. I really have no idea how much longer I’m going to be in limbo. It really freaking sucks. I just don’t know if I’m being too picky or what. I’ve got one of my NaNo friends giving me another set of eyes on my Resume right now. Which is good.  But all I want to know is why is it so hard for someone with 6 years of experience in my field not get anything? No call backs, nothing. Also, why is it so hard to believe that I actually just want to do the work? I DO NOT want to be a manager. I just want to do work.  I’ve also been trying to see if I can leverage something with what fields my Bachelors degrees are in, but I know I haven’t done anything in those fields since college, and technology has changed. I don’t want to be paying an arm and a leg to sort of somehow make myself up-to-date. I mean, if I had a new job and they offered to some sort of tuition reimbursement I’d gladly do it, but  paying for classes again, when I’ll be paying off my undergrad/grad school loans, until I think 2036, isn’t that appealing.   Sorry I went on a bit of a tangent there.
  • Finish my NaNo 2012 story. I really want to do this because I want to edit it. I really like my story in all of its weird turns it took. I want to take the document to Staples and have them print it out and bind it, and make a couple copies so I can start going through it scene by scene.  And another sub-bullet is, I want to consistently write. Which I think blogging will help to a degree.
  • Lastly, this one was on there last year. Try to de-clutter. I did OK, but I got behind again. I want to keep it up. I think this also has to do with trying to not be so lazy.
