Beta Bugger 2012

This year before the NaNo website re-launched, they asked for Beta buggers. A bugger is basically someone who goes into a test version (beta) of the site to see if they can break it.  I know I can’t say too much because I’m not 100% certain of what features were tested are now live, but I wanted to give an overall thought to Beta Bugging in general.

I wanted to do this because I figured it would be a semi-easy way to learn a new skill without having to spend money on a class or something. I know by the time I got on and started testing stuff out, a lot of what I ended up doing was replicating other people’s errors.  I was a little bummed I didn’t find any new errors, but it was good to see that I could easily follow what someone had done and got the same thing.  I also can see how the benefits of NaNoWriMo having a little testing program, help for re-launch day.

Overall, it was a great learning experience and something I do want to try again next year, but I’m going to be a bit more on the ball when reading emails and logging in for the first time.  Who knows maybe someday, I’ll be able to put my clicking links and checking things out in detail to good use as a quality checker or something.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.