Tags

,

A book review on A Christmas Carol? I can hear you thinking, “You’ve got to be kidding, this book is how old and has been reviewed lots of times.”I’m here to say, no I’m not reviewing the Charles Dicken’s version of the story, but Rod Espinosa’s comic book retelling of the story.

For starters Mr. Espinosa’s story has a female lead Eliza Scrooge instead of the traditional Ebeneezer Scrooge.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to like the story with a female lead, but I must say that it actually works quite well.

I’m not going rehash plot points, because in general A Christmas Carol remains the same (a few plot differences but the overall theme of the story is still there), and I’m hoping my readers have read/seen any incarnation of the story before reading this review.

Since this is a comic I’m going to talk about the artwork. It’s gorgeous. The colors used set the tone for each panel, and while I’m not completely into comics, I completely enjoyed this version of A Christmas Carol.

So if you are a fan of comics or A Christmas Carol, give this one a shot. It’s around 100 pages so it’s a quick read.

Disclaimer: I received this from NetGalley.

