Tags

, , , , , ,

This is a post where I’m probably going to get all giddy and tell you to go no run to  an open tab and check out The Fabulous Beekman Boys.

I’ve been a fan of them for about a year and a half now. I accidentally came across their show after seeing their diva llama being shaved. This cracked me up. So of course, I did what anyone else does when they have a new interest, I Googled them.

I thought that they were interesting and funny, and couldn’t wait to read/watch more.  During this time I ended up having surgery, and re-runs of the show and Josh Kilmer-Purcell’s books were helping me recover (and this is my little plea for Josh to write more fiction!)

About 3.5 weeks after my surgery, I ended up meeting the guys at a place called Terrain. Both guys were funny, charming, and everything I had hoped when meeting celebrities.

So season 2 of the show ended and by now I bought the s1, and my friend Laurie and I had made up our minds that we were going to go to their Harvest Fest up in Sharon Springs, New York. We just had to check out what had been on the TV show for ourselves. That weekend was one of the most relaxing weekends ever, along with some of the best food and friendly people. (What can I say, I’m a suburban girl, polite people don’t come in leaps and bounds around here).

I’m already looking forward to 2012’s Harvest Fest for the same good food, good company, and good fun.

Also the boys came back to Terrain in October and of course I met them there again.

But this brings me to my next point. The boys have been off our TV screens for quite a while. Their old TV network went away (it’s now Destination America), and the show didn’t have a home. The cooking channel is now going to be airing the second season of the show starting on September 20th.  Cooking Channel Site is here to get some basic information about the show.

But if you really want to dig in on Beekman info, check out their website Beekman 1802. I guarantee you’ll spend hours checking out the blog posts by Josh and Brent, all the recipes on the site, and other fun stuff.

And if the boys weren’t busy enough running a farm and a business, Josh and Brent are going to be on this seasons The Amazing Race on CBS. (Yes I’m rooting for Team Beekman to win 😉 )

So I’ll leave you with some pictures from last years Harvest Fest.

My first of many purchases at the Mercantile that weekend.

Meeting the guys again, at their cookbook signing.

See, Sharon Springs has a lot of wonderful history.

Of course a Beekman Boys post wouldn’t be complete without a picture of the diva herself, Polka Spot.

 

