Tags

, ,

Remember this post? I know I slacked but when I was at home this past weekend, I went through my books, and picked out my book to read for January.

My January Book re-read of childhood books is: Pee Wee Scouts- The Pee Wee Jubilee (Pee Wee Scouts #11) by Judy Delton and Illustrated by Alan Tiegreen.

This past weekend when I was at home (aka my parents) I was looking through my “library room” to see which books I wanted to give a re-read this year for the books that made me love to read thing. First thing I realized besides the obvious obsession with books, is that yes, I read a lot, but a lot of my books I don’t ever remember reading.

Which made me realize that it was going to be a lot harder to find books than I thought it was going to be. But then I came across my collection of Pee Wee Scout books.

What I remember most about the Pee Wee Scout books was that they had the badges on the back of the book. I had always wanted to have those badges, but I never ever wanted to cut a book cover. So I never did.

Why I picked the The Pee Wee Jubilee: I don’t know. I didn’t have that many Pee Wee Scouts books, but it was right in the middle of the ones I had. So I picked it.

Thoughts now:  A few pages in I remembered why I loved the books. To the point, but it didn’t feel like I was being talked down to.  It felt like I was right with the kids on their level.

The one thing I first noticed was the whole airport scene. I giggled at the fact at how much security has changed over the years.

Then I really felt for Molly and traveling on plane “by herself” I put that in quotes because while she wasn’t really alone, she didn’t have her parents with her, so she felt alone. I mean I didn’t fly alone until I was in 12th grade, though the first time I got on a plane was in 8th grade. I don’t think I could have handled flying “alone” at a younger age. Or heck just flying in general at a younger age.

Overall I still think this book stood the test of time, and is still a decent series to read if it can be found. Though while searching about information on the series, I found out the author had passed away in 2001.  That was sad to hear.

I’ll have an update of general stuff later.

